Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Wellness Walks

Get moving, get grounded and get lifted. 

Wellness Walks is a free and fun opportunity that promotes physical and mental health by getting mindful walking breaks during the busy school and workday. Come out for a walk to restore your concentration, uplift your mood, decrease your stress and be a part of your campus community. All students, staff and faculty are invited to participate.

Meeting locations

North Oshawa campus location
Meet in the Campus Recreation and Wellness Centre (CRWC), at the information desk.

Schedule

Thursday, September 8 | 2 to 3 p.m. Please note you will meet outside The Hive to begin this walk

Tuesday, September 27 | 1 to 2 p.m.

Wednesday, October 5 | Noon to 1 p.m.

Tuesday, October 18 | 1 to 2 p.m.

Wednesday, November 2 | Noon to 1 p.m.

Tuesday, November 15 | 1 to 2 p.m.

Wednesday, January 11 | Noon to 1 p.m.

Tuesday, January 24 | 1 to 2 p.m.

Wednesday, February 8 | Noon to 1 p.m.

Tuesday, February 28  | 1 to 2 p.m.

Wednesday, March 15 | Noon to 1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 28 | 1 to 2 p.m.

Email studentlifeline@ontariotechu.ca with any questions.